Baba Ghannouj

Baba Ghannouj

With feta and olives!

Last week, I had a zucchini and an eggplant and was wondering what I should make. So, instead of heading to the internets, I started at my bookshelf and found The Balanced Plate, by Renee Loux, which is a book I got from McClure’s here in town, which sells used (and new) books.

When I bought this book, I didn’t know much about it and it was a little too green for my tastes. Now that I’m a vegetarian, I love it! It’s one of these books that gets in depth about basic ingredients, how it is made, what to look for and what nutrients or benefits you get from eating said basic ingredient.  Bonus: this one had a recipe for Baba Ghannouj that needed one eggplant and one zucchini. (Well OK it called for two each, but I halved it.)

The family LOVED it, with a few critiques and when I got the farm share this week, again I had an eggplant and a zucchini. Why not do it again?

In part, because I forgot where I got the recipe and had to wing it. Still, that turned out OK again. So, merging what I did the first time with what I did the second time, you get this recipe:

  • 1 small eggplant
  • 1 medium zucchini
  • 1 bulb garlic
  • 1 small onion, chopped
  • 1 teaspoon sesame seeds
  • 1 teaspoon cumin seeds
  • 1 tablespoon lemon juice
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1.5 teaspoons smoked paprika

Cut the zucchini and the eggplant in half lengthwise and  brush with olive oil and salt. Put face down on a baking pan with parchment paper and bake for 30-40 minutes at 400 degrees. (The first time, we did this on the grill, which worked ok. Oven is better.) Take the chopped onion and the garlic bulb (just chop off the top) and put that in a foil pack with a little olive oil and put that in the oven with the eggplant and zucchini.

Remove from oven and let rest until you can pick it up. In the meantime, heat a skillet and add the sesame seeds and cumin seeds (the second time, I forgot the cumin and used walnuts, which was OK but the cumin will give it flavor) until fragrant. Add those to the food processor and process until ground.

Scoop out the eggplant and the zucchini from the rind and put in the food processor. Peel the garlic (I usually just squeeze the garlic out the top) and add that with the onion,  paprika, lemon juice and salt. Puree until smooth.

Serve with flatbread and feta and maybe even olives!

Next week, I am not cooking because I’m getting a new kitchen. I’ll post pix when it’s done. Wish me luck! In the interim, I found a few recipes hidden in drafts that I’ll publish at some point.

2 thoughts on “Baba Ghannouj

  1. Pingback: Chickpea and Eggplant Curry (Oil-free) | Plantivores

  2. Pingback: Gaga for Baba Ghannouj | SIM | ANTICS

Leave a Reply

