Zucchini Couscous

Zucchini couscous

The tomato/kale version

As with any summer garden or farm share, you’re gonna get some zucchini. Fortunately, we like zucchini, but you do end up having to be creative about how your’e going to use it.

So, I concluded it’d be good paired with couscous. And, I figured it’d be good with some tofu. So here’s what I did:

  • 1 cup of couscous
  • 1.5 pounds of zucchini and squash
  • 1 onion
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • Olive oil (enough for stir frying, I usually don’t measure, but put enough to coat the pan)
  • pinch of Chinese five spice (or a teaspoon, again a guess)
  • A tablespoon of soy sauce
  • half a tablespoon (or less sesame oil)
  • A splash of lemon juice
  1. Make the couscous and set aside.
  2. Heat the oil and add the onion until it is translucent. Then, add the garlic.
  3. Add the zucchini and toss until covered with the oil. Then, add the spice and liquids toss again. Then, the tofu and continue to stir fry until the zucchini is somewhat soft, but still crunchy.
  4. I added this mixture to the couscous.
  5. Now, then I did something that I didn’t really think through, so I add it as an optional step: I added chia seeds. I forgot that the chia seeds swell in water, which is kind of what they did. So, I added some feta and it kind of created a sauce and it turned out to be quite good!

Naturally, the next week I got even more zucchini, so I thought I’d make it again, since my husband did not get to try it. But, I made a few changes:

  1. I added two small kale leaves, since it looks small when I put the zucchini in the pan.
  2. I left out the chia seeds AND the cheese, in part because I was out of feta.
  3. I added a chopped up tomato near the end.

Also delicious! I’ve concluded you can make just about anything with soy sauce and sesame oil and it’s going to be good.

One thought on “Zucchini Couscous

Leave a Reply

