Mint Chocolate Chip Cookies

Cookies that freshen your breath while you eat them!The farm share is back! This week, it looked like I went and picked up a bunch of grass clippings and stuck them in the fridge, because I got spinach, arugula, lettuce mix, beet greens and mint. (And radishes.)

I had ideas on the rest of the stuff. The arugula could top a pizza or go in salads. The lettuce mix would go in salads too. The spinach could be good for smoothies or a frittata or in a risotto. (I went with the risotto, will post tomorrow.) But what could I do with the mint? 

TO THE INTERNETS! Not only did I find a nice mint and pea bulgur I will try later this week, but I found … chocolate chip mint cookies! I decided this recipe would be easy and off to the store for chocolate chips.

Of course, I got home and I was lacking butter. As a result, we ended up with a fairly different recipe. Were the cookies good? YES! They were very crisp and crunchy because I used coconut oil instead of butter. And, to get the dough to be less crumbly, I added milk.

  • 1 cup of sugar
  • 1/3 cup of butter, softened
  • 1/2 cup of coconut oil (Actually, ideally? 50-50 split on this or even flip this, so more butter than coconut oil)
  • 1 tablespoon chopped fresh mint leaves
  • 1 egg
  • 2 cups flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 6 ounces chocolate chips (because the bag I bought was less than 10)
  • Milk

Beat the sugar, butter, mint and eggs for about 2-3 minutes. Now, most people will tell you to mix the flour, salt, baking soda in a separate bowl. I cheat: I mix the smaller ingredients into the dough and then I add the flour. Perhaps this makes me a lazy or evil cook, but it seems to work, so unless someone tells me why I can’t do this, I’m not. Then, stir in the chocolate chips.

At this point, I realized the dough was way too crumbly, so I added about 2 tablespoons of milk.

Drop tablespoons on a cookie tray lined with parchment and bake. (If you think parchment is a waste of money, listen to me now: USE IT. You will not go back, even if it’s just that you love love love having shiny clean pans for more than the first three uses.) Now my daughter make some damn big tablespoons, so we cooked them for about 15-18 minutes.

Delicious! Like I said, it was crisp — so crisp that you couldn’t easily break them in half. But they were surprisingly good!

And I promise! More blogging to come. Now that I’m done with the Staff Development Program and my UCDA Summit has happened, and I finished my marathon and the family situation with aging parents has stabilized, I plan to blog more.

Leave a Reply

