Quickie Meals

Some of you have been kind enough to reach out to me and say “where did you go?” Life got a little nuts for me, then the farm share was over. So, the blog went into hiberation. But! Spring is around the corner, so it’s time to revive things.

Twice a week, the husband and daughter go work out and I go visit my dad. Dad has dementia and so he needs regular care, but he gets lonely. So, I’ll go by and watch Wheel with him, then head home. While I enjoy those visits, I don’t get the time I used to have to cook on those nights. The family isn’t really in the mood for anything fancy anyway. I’ve got a few quickie meals I throw together for them.

Frittata

Boy they love those. Very simple to make, too. Last week, my husband thoughtfully got me a bag of spinach so I could make salads all week. Unfortunately, I was only in town for two days. A bag of spinach makes for an excellent frittata. Here’s what I did:

  • Chop half an onion. I had an onion, but shallots, leeks, green onions will also work. I would have added a clove of garlic, but there was none in the house. 
  • Throw the bag of spinach in the food processor. Or chop by hand if you simply must. And, preheat the oven to 350. 
  • Heat some grapeseed or olive oil in a cast iron pan on medium heat. (Or a regular pan, but the cast iron is best, especially if you’re a vegetarian, because the iron of the pan transfers to the food. And, you have to use oil if you want to get those great nutrients from the spinach.) 
  • Saute the onions for about 2-3 minutes, then add the spinach and saute that for another couple of minutes. I seasoned mine with a little French sea salt and a dash of nutmeg. Seriously, it was like a 1/4 teaspoon. I didn’t want to freak out the family.
  • Crack 8 eggs and whisk with a tablespoon or two of milk (or water if you’ve vegan.) Pour that into the pan and let that cook for about 5 minutes. I usually lift egg up on the sides of the pan to let the uncooked egg run under the pan. And, I sprinkled a little bit of parmesan on the top. Just a bit. If the family wanted more, they could add it. (Or even bacon, like my husband did.)
  • Put it in the oven, on 350 or 400, for another 5 minutes, until the top is cooked. Cut into 6 pieces, or 8 pieces or whatever size you deem appropriate, and eat.

Risotto

Risotto is a quickie meal? YES, with the pressure cooker, it very much is a quickie meal. Here’s my standard one.

  • Put some dried porcini mushrooms in a measuring cup and pour boiling water on them. Let them sit for about 5 minutes while you chop your 1 onion and your 2 cloves of garlic.
  • Drain your mushrooms and save the broth. I got a little lazy about this once and I believe I crunched every grain of sand in those mushrooms, so drain them. I have some sort of wire mesh basket that I put a coffee filter in and drain the liquid from one measuring cup to another. Then, I rinse the mushrooms with water and I take them out by hand, not but dumping on a board. I’m always surprised by the dirt you end up with. Then, chop up those mushrooms. That can be a little bit of a challenge, but I find the risotto is better when the mushrooms are chopped up. Add about a teaspoon of dried oregano.
  • Saute your onions and garlic in grapeseed oil until translucent, then add your rice. The trick is to saute the rice in the oil until covered. Then, add the mushroom broth and enough veggie broth so you end up with three cups of broth total.
  • Get your pressure up to high, then cook at high pressure for 5 minutes. The, quick release (I take mine to the sink and spray with cold water until it drops.) Open up and continue to simmer until it’s nice and creamy.
  • Add cheese to taste.
  • The whole thing takes about 20 minutes. Really, I promise.

Broccoli Pasta

I’ve posted this before, but it really is a family fav. The husband threw this one together when the kid had a guest for dinner, who declared she did not eat tomatoes. It was half an hour from running to the store (disclaimer: half a mile away) to serving on the table.

  1. Boil a pot of water with 2T of salt.
  2. Add your bag of broccoli florets and boil for about 2 minutes.
  3. Add a box of penne. I usually sneak in the high fiber stuff. Boil per the directions.
  4. Drain and put in a bowl. Pour olive oil on top, about 1/4-1/3 a cup. Stir until the broccoli breaks up.
  5. Add cheese to your liking and serve. We usually let people customize their cheese consumption, and use parmesan or asiago. (Or both.) You could theoretically add crumbled up bacon too, if you wanted more ingredients in this thing.

And, like everyone, we resort to PBJs and oatmeal and the like. What are your quickie meals?

5 thoughts on “Quickie Meals

  1. Barbara

    These sound yummy–I may have to get a pressure cooker now! I just made roasted asparagus Sun night, and I think it’s my new fav. Just drizzled with olive oil, sprinkled with garlic salt and pepper, and put in the oven at 425 for 15-20 min. Sprinkled with Parmesan and could’ve eaten the whole thing in 1 sitting… :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

