What’s for DInner: July 15

The farm share was just ridiculous this week. An insane amount of food included:

  • 5 Potatoes
  • 1/2 pound Green beans (blanched, froze)
  • Green pepper
  • Biscayne pepper
  • Okra (which I conveniently forgot although I did mean to get it)
  • 5 tomatoes, including two really really large ones
  • 3 small eggplants (gave away one of these)
  • 1/2 a bag of basil (a bag is one of those plastic bags, so a lot of basil)
  • Scallions
  • 2 butternut squash (gave away one of these)
  • 2 Collard plants (gave away one of these too)
  • 2 cucumbers
  • 2 pounds squash (gave away a squash)
  • Garlic
  • 10 ears corn (used 3; blanched the rest and froze it)
  • Cantaloupe
  • Watermelon
  • 3 pounds peaches

Good grief! Plus, I found out that yes, there are three more pickups after this one, but they take a three week break and then this goes on for 12 more weeks! I can’t believe it. It’s really an incredible bargain, if you can be disciplined to use all the food.

So, first thing I did was to give a collard plant, some leftover cukes and those little cherry tomatoes I got the week before to my neighbor, who was delighted. Husband is always like “give it away” so now that I know it’s costing me almost half what I thought it was and that I’m getting insane amounts of food, yes, give it away.

Saturday, after a stressful couple of weeks, we went with comfort food. I pulled out a loaf of sourdough from the freezer. I’d bought it at Granny Zuerker’s a couple of months ago, but we didn’t eat it. We made grilled cheese sandwiches and soup. I know I made tomato basil soup last week, but this week, I added corn. You’ll see I didn’t change much from the original, but I’m finding if I don’t also include the recipe, I run the risk of the link disappearing.

Tomato Basil Corn Soup

  • 6 tomatoes. seeded and roughly chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 2 ears corn (or in my case, 3 bc one of the ears was a bum ear), kernels removed
  • Veggie broth
  • Basil to taste. I went with a lot, because I like it and I’m swimming in basil.
  • Salt to taste

Start by sauteing the onion and garlic is some oil of your choice (grapeseed for me) in a large pot until the onions are nice and translucent. Probably want to do this over a medium heat, folks. Those onions and garlic can get bitter if they burn at all.

Add the tomatoes, corn and basil and get to a boil. Then simmer for 30 minutes.

Puree that with your fabulous immersion blender. (Oh you could do it in a food processor or a blender but what a mess.) Then add salt to taste and cover and let simmer for another 10 minutes.

For dessert, I did something with my watermelon. I’ll admit it: I’m not the biggest fan of watermelon. Now my dad, absolutely. But, he’s not supposed to eat it anymore because it’s high in potassium and he’s supposed to avoid that because of his kidneys. Also, the damn thing actually cracked on the way home, so it wasn’t in a form that you could just eat a slice anymore. So, I found this little recipe, which was inspired by someone saying “oh I made watermelon pops out of ours from last week.” Brilliant.

Watermelon Yogurt Pops

Deseed 4 cups of watermelon. If yours has split open, your watermelon is going to be a pulpy mess, so you’ll be sorting through it with globs of it in your hands. Plus, you don’t really need to worry too much about it, because it turns out the seeds do NOT get chewed up in the processor.

Puree that in your food processor, then take a sieve and strain it. Toss the pulp.

Add 2 cups Greek yogurt and sugar to taste. Now me, I went with honey and that made it taste a little funky. So, if I do it again, I’d go with just plain old sugar.

Pour that into popsicle molds and freeze. It only takes 2-3 hours to freeze. If you can’t find popsicle molds, you could always use Dixie cups and popsicle sticks that you perhaps have left over from a kids’ art project or teaching Sunday school.

Pasta with Eggplant and Pepper Tomato Sauce

What to do with all these eggplants? I like to make it grilled, but these are too dang small for that recipe. So, I went to the trusty internets and I found this recipe. Perfect. I had tomatoes, and boy did I have peppers.

With the heat, I surely didn’t want to turn on the oven, so I tried pan roasting them. This worked OK. The longer, thinner peppers worked great! The bigger ones, less so. Here’s my version:

  • 1 large can of peeled, no-salt added plum tomatoes: I found this in a paper box. Yes! So exciting! What a great way to store tomatoes.
  • 2 small sized eggplant, cut into bite-sized pieces
  • Roasted peppers: I used a green pepper, a red pepper and two biscayne peppers. And a teeny tiny purple pepper that I don’t know what it was but it was cute.
  • 1/2 yellow onion
  • 3 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 shot of good red wine
  • Fresh oregano, chopped
  • Fresh basil and I used a LOT. Because I had a LOT.
  • Adobo
  • Penne
  • Parmesan cheese
  • Italian parsley, for garnish
  1. Roasting the peppers. I put these suckers on a nice hot cast iron pan. Again, what a great way to get some iron into your entree! We just flipped until we got them fairly black, stuck them in a paper bag for 20 minutes and then tried to peel them. This was met with mixed success. I used a peeler for some of it, then chopped them up.
  2. Heat some oil (went with grapeseed) and saute the eggplant until covered and slightly soft. Add the onions and garlic for about 5 minutes, until the onion is a little translucent.
  3. Add the tomato, the wine and the spices and simmer for about 45 minutes, covered.
  4. When the simmering is nearly done, cook the penne. I cooked my whole bag. Add the pasta to the sauce and serve. Top each serving with parmesan and fresh parsley.

This was a HUGE hit with the family.

I also made the collard bulgur salad and they chose to eat the leftover pasta instead of the salad. I ended up eating this all week and to be honest, it was way too oniony for my tastes.

3 thoughts on “What’s for DInner: July 15

  1. Pingback: What’s in the Box? #37 « In Her Chucks

Leave a Reply

