What’s for dinner: July 8

Tastes better than it looks here

Pretty simple week this week, as there was a lot of other stuff going on. Still, two new recipes.

Tomato Basil Soup

I had a big bag of basil and someone brought my parents a ton of tomatoes they didn’t want, plus I had other tomatoes from the farm share. I was stressing about what on earth I’d do with all these ingredients. Then it hit me: DUH, we love tomato basil soup. So, I used this recipe.

  • 6 pounds of tomatoes (I mixed the types here)
  • 1/2 an onion
  • 2 garlic cloves
  • A dash of red pepper flakes
  • 2 ounces fresh basil
  • Veggie broth

That’s one massive tomato

Roughly chop and seed the tomatoes. Put them on a baking sheet (I line mine with parchment) along with the onions and garlic (which should be chopped) and drizzle with olive oil. Roast for 40-50 minutes.

Put this mixture in a pot and add a cup of veggie broth and the basil. Let simmer for about 20 minutes. Take your immersion blender and puree that bad boy.

Squash Collard Risotto

Again, I’m thinking “I’ve got squash, I got collards, what do I do?” Off to the internets and I turned up this recipe. Now admittedly it’s WINTER squash but I really needed to use up the rest of this squash.

So, here’s my version:

  • Squash (two medium here), cubed: put this on a baking sheet, drizzle with olive oil and roast for 20-30 minutes
  • One collard plant, blanched and cut into ribbons
  • 1.5 cups arborio rice
  • 1 quart veggie broth, 1 quart water
  • 1 onion
  • 2 garlic cloves
  • Tumeric
  • Salt
  • 1/2 cup dry white wine
  • Parmesan cheese

Pull out your PRESSURE COOKER. (If you don’t have one, follow the directions from the link.) Saute the onions and garlic until translucent. Add the rice and stir until covered with the oil. Add the wine and wait until the wine evaporates. Add the liquid and then the collards and about two thirds the squash. Get the pot up to pressure, let cook at high for 5 minutes and then let the pressure come down naturally. I’d let it sit for about 5-10 minutes to continue to absorb the stock. Then, add parmesan cheese to taste.

I also made the tomato-cucumber salad as well as the spanikopita. Made the spanikopita with basil but the husband seriously hated that. Wouldn’t eat it at all. I liked it, but have promised to never do that again.

And that was the week. Lots of veggies this week. LOTS. It’s insane. Three more pickups and then … I’m forced to go to the grocery store for everything again.

5 thoughts on “What’s for dinner: July 8

  1. inherchucks

    You always have such delicious looking meals :) And that corn soup sounds pretty amazing! Looking forward to getting the recipe.

    Thanks for linking up!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

