What’s for Dinner: July 1

Fish tacos!Some repeats this week, but I’m posting about it because I cooked a lot of it at once and it was so crazy efficient and worth it.

The heat wave that has covered much of the midwest and the northeast finally, unfortunately, creeped its way down here. We’d had stupendous weather so far for the summer and this week, we finally got hot weather. And I mean crazy hot weather, like 105 hot weather. Just in time to run Peachtree! I’d like to say I deliberately ran at 9 instead of, say, 7 as a way to train but the truth is I was just tired.

The hot weather also means my husband really doesn’t want me to turn on the oven. But, we got Swiss chard again this week, and that means he’s counting on the Spanakopita that I make, which means I turn on the oven. So, we compromised: I’d turn on the oven if I made a bunch of stuff at once and made it worthwhile.

Here’s what was in the share this week:

  • Corn on the cob (5 ears, boiled on Friday and eaten with no salt, no butter and so so delicious)
  • 3 potatoes
  • 2 pounds squash, maybe 3 (Husband picked it up this week)
  • 1 pound green beans
  • 3 tomatoes
  • Romaine
  • Swiss chard
  • 5 cucumbers (!!)
  • Peaches, blueberries
  • Red pepper
  • Cantaloupe

As I went to the store to buy the rest of the ingredients I would need for my meals, I realized it must be a very odd cart to those that didn’t realize what I was doing. Here was that list:

  • Pack of feta
  • Pack of parmasan
  • Cat litter
  • Case of beer (for him, and he wanted a 6 pack but this was on sale)
  • 4 onions
  • Tamari sauce
  • Eggs

So, here’s what I made on Saturday:

I chopped 4 onions and 6 cloves of garlic. I washed and de-stemmed the chard. And I thinly sliced the squash, a potato and a handful of tomatoes. (We had more tomatoes than just the farm share: my MIL gave us a few and my daughter had bought some with the thought of actually making something and that didn’t happen.) I also then grated two more squash.

I then sauteed ALL the onions and garlic at one time and when they were done, I spread some of them for the veggie tian, put some in the food processor for the pie (sorry tired of typing spanakopita) and left the rest in the pan and added the grated squash. Then I managed to assemble the tian and the pie and throw those in the oven. They both needed to bake for 40-50 minutes. Then I assembled the squash triangles, which I made up in a desperate attempt to use up both squash as well as leftover fillo dough from the pie.

Squash Triangles

  • 1 onion
  • 2 squash
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • Thyme
  • Parsley (or carrot tops)
  • Salt

Feta, if you aren’t too ditzy and don’t forget to add it like I did. I’d suggest 4 ounces.

Saute the onion and garlic in oil (going with grapeseed per my friend Amanda.) Add the shredded squash and the spices and let cook for about 15-20 minutes until a lot of the water from the squash has evaporated. Add the fillo if you can remember. (NOTE: mine were still tasty without the cheese.)

Cut your fillo sheets in half lengthwise. Brush a full sheet with oil (or mix oil and butter as I did) and stack them on top of each other. Place about 1.5T of the squash mixture at the bottom of these two sheets and fold up like a paper football. (Note: disregard the part about inserting the paper into the end to seal it. You’ll just go until you run out of dough and use a little oil as glue.) Brush with more oil and place on a pan with a parchment sheet. (Seriously people, make your life easier and use parchment. You can even buy the stuff cured without sulfer. Think of the water you’ll save scrubbing the pan.) Repeat until out of mixture and/or dough, and bake for 10-15 minutes.

Shirazi

When I go to my local Friends restaurant, I either get the Addas Pollo or the vegetarian plate, and I always substitute the Shirazi for the roasted potatoes. That’s the middle eastern name for tomato cucumber salad and it turns out it’s ridiculously easy to make. First, you sic your OCD husband (well only mildly) on the chopping and you end up with very finely minced cucumbers and tomatoes. We peeled one cuke and chopped one tomato. Then, you add salt and lemon juice. DONE. You can also add parsley or mint if you want to get all fancy, but we just had this. My husband made a point of saying “this is really supposed to go with, say, a shish kebob” and I just looked at him, because I know he meant a beef shish kebob and I don’t eat that. We ate it with the pie and it was good anyway. To hell with tradition, I say!

Tonight, fish tacos. We love our fish tacos. I made some black beans (1/2 cup dry) in the pressure cooker, then added a tablespoon of lime juice. I sauteed an onion and a green pepper until they got nice and soft, along with a clove of garlic and a teaspoon of chili powder, 2 teaspoons of cumin and a good shake of Adobo. Then, I mixed half of the onions and peppers with the beans. The rest, people could use on the tacos. The tomato and romaine from the share were really awesome. Husband will probably eat another potato and some of the green beans. That leaves me with some squash, some romaine and lots of cukes. Oh, and cantaloupes!

3 thoughts on “What’s for Dinner: July 1

    1. cuprado Post author

      Thanks! Got another one to write when I get a chance: squash and bulgur salad aka using up the lemon, ginger, scallions and squash.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

