Fish Taco Night

Had my dad and my aunt over, so it seemed like a good time to break out the fish tacos. There’s two reasons for this: first, we make a ton of sides, so it makes a ton of food. Second, when my parents visited us in Dallas, we took them to our favorite restaurant. My dad went on an on about the fish tacos on the menu, having never heard of them. Who would order that? he asked? Then … HE ORDERED THEM. My head nearly snapped off I turned so quickly. He loved them too.

So, here’s a list of the kinds of things you can serve with fish tacos.

Fish tacos (required)

Here we try to buy good tilapia, and as always, fresh caught, not farm raised. Then, we simply sprinkle Adobo on it, which is just basically a garlic salt. Then we grill them, about 4 minutes a side. That’s it. Done. Tonight’s fish came from Whole Foods, since I was in Greenville anyway to see Les Miz (WOW) and they had a deal: if you bought 2 pounds of tilapia or catfish, you got it for $2 off a pound. So, 2 pounds it was!

The kid also saw ceviche on the seafood bar, so we picked up some of that. That was a huge hit at the table.

The family uses regular tortillas, but I prefer the whole wheat ones.

Toppings

The extras here includes: chopped tomato, grilled onions (I saute those up in a pan), grilled peppers (with the onions), avocado (enjoy those great fats in avocados!), salsa, mixed greens, cilantro and Mexican cheese.

Pico de Gallo

If you’re not racing around town and squeezing in a Broadway show in your day, then making pico is awesome. Take about 4 tomatoes, peel and seed them and chop them up. (Tip: you can make an x in the bottom with a knife, boil for about 15-20 seconds, let cool and the skins will peel off with your hands.) Add: chopped onion, chopped jalapeno, lime juice, a little bit of olive oil, some cumin and some salt. Maybe a splash of balsamic. Or some cayenne pepper why not.

Black Beans

We all remember that if I wasn’t already married, I’d marry my pressure cooker, right? And again, it served me well tonight. I soaked some beans mid-morning, then went about my day, which included seeing Les Miz. Turns out Les Miz is a longer show (worth it), and so we didn’t get out until 5. (Yeah, yeah we see the matinee so it’s us and the retirees, but otherwise, the kid falls asleep.) This meant that I had about an hour and a half to get to Whole Foods on the other side of town, get my groceries and return 35 miles home. They showed up around 6:50 and I had JUST gotten the beans going in the pressure cooker. Dinner was on the table by 7:15. Try that with dried beans the regular way. You’ll enjoy those bad boys around 9 pm.

SO … here’s what I do: soak the black beans for 6-8 hours. Dump them in the pressure cooker (I do drain the water, but there’s discussion as to the pros and cons on that), add 3 cups of water to every one cup of soaked beans. (So, 6 cups.) Get up to pressure, turn down to simmer and time for 3 minutes. That’s right folks, 3 minutes. Take off the heat and wait for the pressure to come down (about 10) and open the lid and BAM, cooked beans. Then I add a handful of chopped cilantro, a chopped jalapeno, some chopped garlic and a bunch of lime juice and some salt.

Red Rice

This, my husband makes, so I can’t help you there. I know he adds corn and tomato paste and he cooks it so you get the crust on the bottom. Saw the recipe this morning and you sauté onions, garlic and rice (1.5 cups) in oil, then add a cup of tomato sauce and 2.5 cups of broth. He also likes to use arborio rice. It’s something like this, except I know he also adds corn to it.

Chips

You can be lazy and buy a bag OR if you want to turn on the oven, you can buy corn tortillas, cut them up into 6ths and spread them on a baking sheet. Spray with olive oil, sprinkle with the spice of your choice and bake for about 6 minutes a side. (Actually tonight, we did NEITHER.)

And so, there you have it: fish taco night. About 1.5 filets left, so looks like I’ll make a sweet potato filling and the other two can split the rest of that yummy fish. (The sweet potatoes are easy: boil chopped up potatoes for about 6 minutes, drain, mash, add some green chili peppers, some cumin and some salt, maybe some cayenne. Wrap in a tortilla with the black beans and eat.)

2 thoughts on “Fish Taco Night

  1. Pingback: What’s for Dinner: July 1 | Thoughts from the end of the world

  2. Pingback: Sweet Potato Black Bean Wraps | Thoughts from the end of the world

Leave a Reply

