Menu for April 15

I tweeted the plan for this week’s menu and a twitter follower suggested I blog about it. Even though these recipes aren’t necessarily mine, I’m following her suggestion.

Almond Oatmeal Cranberry Cookies

Almond Butter Oatmeal CookiesSO, first up are the cookies made for church. We have a new minister coming in and we had a social afterwards to meet her. It went well and the cookies were a big hit, at least in my family. VERY easy to make. I woke up thinking “oh yeah I said I’d bring something,” scrounged around in the kitchen, found I had these ingredients and whipped up a batch. They were done within an hour. My changes: a little more cinnamon and dried cranberries, not chocolate. Certainly not because I don’t like chocolate. In fact, I had no chips in the house because I ate them all. And, I’ll let you in on a little secret: I don’t actually mix all my dry ingredients together beforehand. This might make me a horrible, terrible baker, but I don’t. If there’s a reason why I should that will make my cookies turn out like Martha Stewart, please enlighten me. Otherwise, I’m going to stick to washing one bowl. Secret number two: I totally use parchment paper. This was another “you’ll have to convince me” type of thing but I am SOLD. I do buy the hippie version of the stuff, but man I adore it. (And to those that say “use the silicon,” there’s just something about heating up silicon that I don’t trust.) My cookies DO brown more evenly and the pans are much easier to clean. So, if you have to pick between mixing dry ingredients and parchment paper, it’s a landslide: parchment paper. Oh, and the cookies themselves were gone by 4 pm.

Vegetable Tien

Vegetable TienTonight’s dinner was leftovers. My parents don’t actually believe in leftovers but without them, I think I just would not cook. If a meal doesn’t last two nights, I’m seriously depressed. My friend Jeannie suggested this recipe when I was wondering what I’d make for Easter dinner as a vegetarian (answer: quiche, duh. See the tomatos feta cheese recipe in Joy of Cooking.) So, I saved it and made it on Saturday. Plenty left, so we had it again on Sunday. This one is easy to make, but if I made it again, I’d say one less potato, one more tomato. The second night, I added more cheese when we reheated and that helped a lot. Potatoes can be so bland. They really need a lot of help, which is why I tend to prefer the sweet potato. This recipe, I made as they called for EXCEPT I added smoked paprika. Smoked paprika just makes everything better. Also, the picture in the sample, everything is much smaller. So, I’m thinking next time, I choose a different potato than your standard baking potato and smaller zucchinis. Also, I’d consider adding a grain. It’s missing something, not sure what.

Roasted Root Vegetables with Quinoa

Roasted Root VeggiesTomorrow, the kid and the husband have a late workout. Normally, I jazzercise, but I’m sidelined with a heel injury, grr. So, I’ll probably do some Wii Fit yoga and get the rest of my workout chopping root vegetables. Now, I do not believe I ever ate a turnip or a rutabaga until I went vegetarian. Now, I love them. And, to add to the fun, I like to buy them at my favorite local grocery store, because inevitably I get a young cashier or bag boy (or bonus: both) and they pick these things up and go “what are these??” and I’ll say “oh those are parsnips and they are DELICIOUS and you should totally buy them and roast them” and their eyes eventually roll around to the back of their heads. So, it’s worth making just to watch the cashier pick up a turnip and ask me if it’s a radish. This recipe is a total mashup of the one from Whole Foods and the one from Kind Diet. (BTW, Whole Foods has rocking recipes and I adore their app. And Alicia Silverstone has a great book!) Basically, I cut up:

  • A couple small turnips
  • A bunch of carrots
  • A sweet potato or two (husband actually doesn’t like sweet potatoes! I will cut up two tomorrow because they were on sale at Ingles AND bonus also organic)
  • Beets (about 4, since I have to buy in batches)
  • Rutabaga
  • Parsnips (they looked good this week, bought 3)
  • Onion (gotta have an onion)
  • Garlic
  • Then cover the whole mess with some olive oil and salt and paprika and thyme and roast for about 40 minutes at 400, then add some chopped up dried apricots and serve with quinoa. Or barley. Or bulgur, which is what it’s with in the photo. Or heck, rice!

Peanut Soba Noodles

Tofu Peanut NoodlesThis one, believe it or not, was in my Runner’s World magazine. Uber-easy to make and a big hit with me and my kid. AND, a massive protein bomb. Who says vegetarians don’t get protein? We skip the chicken and go with tofu, which I bake after marinating in the same sort of sauce listed. And, I usually skip the peanuts (kid has braces and nuts are a problem), and the cilantro (unless I’m using for another meal that week, I hate to spend money on a big batch and not use it.)

Sweet Potato Burgers

This one has been on my radar for a while, but we’ll see if I get around to making it this week or not. So, nothing new to add here. When we finally make it, seems like we HAVE to have it with corn on the cob.

Thoughts? Any way I can make these meals better? (Besides adding meat, which is always my husband’s answer.)

One thought on “Menu for April 15

  1. Pingback: What’s for Dinner: June 8 | Thoughts from the end of the world

Leave a Reply

