Holiday Book Series Book 4: At Knit’s End

Next up is a little book by Stephanie Pearl-McPhee, otherwise known as the Yarn Harlot. She’s sort of a cross between Martha Stewart and Rosanne Barr, minus the ick factor and the psychological issues for both those ladies. She only writes about knitting, which I suppose you are doomed to knit when your maiden name is Pearl, and she’s very funny. She’s also Canadian, but that’s OK.

I’ve gotten several of her books before for Christmas. I guess if you absolutely have to buy a book for a knitter, then this seems to be a go to author. I like her a lot. But, there’s really only so much one can say about knitting, so there’s a sense like I’ve read this before.

This time, it’s based on a devotional book, so the cover has a landscape shot on it, except the grass looks to be made out of one whale of a knotted yarn and the road down the middle is like a stockinette stitch scarf. It’s still on the needles and coving over the purple mountains is a big ball of yellow yarn. Cute. In fact the entire cover is cute. There’s a whimsical font on the front and it’s just … a little too much for my taste. Plus, the peach and turquoise color mix on the front doesn’t work for me. I can’t exactly place it, but it feels familiar. which is probably why it’s leaving me unsettled.

The back has a picture of Ms. Pearl-McPhee and she’s clearly an everywoman. You feel that in her writing, but you can really see it in this shot. She has medium length hair, not particularly styled, glasses, a plain red tshirt and, of course, a knitted sweater. It almost feels like a school portrait.

The inside has one “devotional” a day on it, starting with a quote at the top from someone of note, some writing of humorous observation, and then a moral to the end of this. I won’t read this book all the way through as I don’t think it’s intended to be read in one sitting. It will probably sit on my nightstand and I’ll read three or four then go to sleep. It takes me almost no time to go to sleep, a trait which annoys my husband to no end.

Most of the essays are quite funny, such as that every knitter has a monstrous sweater and that we had to know while we were making it that it would be a disaster and yet we kept going. Why? That’s a good question and I wish I knew, but I too have made the monstrous sweater. In fact, I might have two that I’m in denial about.

She also writes about timid knitters, which she finds crazy. They are afraid to try cables or lace. She says “Be afraid of skydiving. Be afraid of wild boars. Be fearless in knitting.” I agree.

She also suggests to her readers not to underestimate projects for gifts. She reminds them that a book might make a good gift.

Just … not too many books, folks!

Grade: A. Design: B.

Leave a Reply

