Lebowski DONE

DONE DONE DONE

IT’S DONE. When is the birthday, you might ask? THURSDAY. Talk about cutting it to the quick.

Actually, the knitting’s been done for a while now. I blocked it in the back room that we never use, along with a sweater I finished … at the end of April. Just in time for hot weather, yah. So, I left it for a long time, no incentive to finish it, since I’m not going to be wearing it in 90+ degree weather. Finally, I blocked both of them and told him “I’m blocking that sweater that I made, finally, and the door is shut to keep the cats away from it.” Partially true. Any time that door is open, no matter where those cats might be, they are in the room within 30 seconds.

Still, do I think I’ve kept this a surprise from him? No. I suspect that he actually knows. You know what? This is OK. He doesn’t always handle surprises very well. So part of me hopes he’s figured it out. Then he can pretend to be surprised and everyone is happy.

What held me up from finishing this dang thing, besides that he didn’t travel or I was traveling or whatever the excuse, was sewing in the zipper. The amazing, fabulous zipper I was so ecstatic to find. I was totally freaked out about it. I just knew it’d be impossible. And … it was not bad at all. Go figure. I hand-stitched it in. I just knew there was no point in putting a foot on a bulky, loose knit.

The back of the uniform, the REAL surprise

I did turn on the machine and put the Kuk Sool patches on his uniform top. I had to do this for my daughter last year, before he started taking Kuk Sool as well. I’d been pestering him to get the patches, but he’s not done it because he thought it’d be too much work for me. So, this week, since he was gone on Tuesday, I bought the patches and sewed them on. I figured I’d wrap it up and there it would be … but the kid suggested I fold it up … and stick it back in the drawer. A REAL surprise for him. So, that’s what I’ve done.

AbidingWHEE DONE! I don’t think I will ever make another one. It was a massive project. But then again, I guess any men’s sweater is going to be a massive project!

But that’s just my opinion, man. The dude abides. Hopefully the dude getting the sweater adores.

Leave a Reply

