Clean out the fridge Pasta Primavera

I haven’t blogged in forever! I’ve been too busy doing stuff. We went to Hilton Head (fabulous time, will write about that at some point), we went ziplining (click on the squirrel) in Asheville (fabulous time as well) and in between, I’ve been working or being driven crazy by this one particular sweater. So, I’ve fallen off my goal of blogging once a week.

Tonight, I have a recipe. I’d been getting a little slack with some of the cooking and some of the things we’ve been making are crazy-quick things that really almost don’t deserve a blog post. But tonight, here we were, no dinner plans, no meals plotted out. I realized when I was making my salad for work that I was out of spinach (which I use for my base), but not out of other vegetables. I thought I’d make a stir fry, but I looked at the carrots, two mushrooms, half a zucchini, and entire red pepper, along with most a can of light coconut milk I had left and thought “hmm, not sure that’s going to work.”

Ta da! Pasta Primavera made with coconut milk. I waited until my husband ate it and decided it was good before I broke it to him that it wasn’t cow’s milk. He’s a little concerned about all this vegetarianism (hey we eat fish) and all, getting sick of me talking about the China Study, so I wasn’t sure what he’d say. He liked it a great deal. In fact, he yelled at the kid for leaving a little bit in the pot when she put the leftovers in the fridge. He’s already claimed it for lunch and told her “that is a morsel that could be in my belly!”

Sorry for the lack of pictures. I guess we were hungry! We served this with some bread bought at the Clemson Farmer’s Market, made by Artisan Breads. (He usually runs out early, the bread is that damn good. You can also get it through CAFE.) A nice loaf, which he said came out of the oven at 3:30 that afternoon. YUM. Good for mopping up the sauce.

Here’s the dish:

  • Peppers, sweet, red, fresh, 1.25 large (2-1/4 per lb, approx 3-3/4″)
  • Carrots, raw, .5 cup, chopped
  • Zucchini, .5 cup, sliced
  • Mushrooms, fresh, 2 large
  • Garlic, 2 cloves
  • Olive Oil, 1 tbsp
  • Butter, unsalted, 2 tbsp
  • Flour, white, .125 cup
  • 13.5 oz can organic coconut milk (light), .75 serving
  • Parmesan Cheese, grated, 2 tbsp (remove)
  • Asiago Cheese, 1 oz
  • Pasta, cooked, 3.5 oz

Directions

Three parts to this dish:

  1. Veggies: heat the olive oil in a pan. Add the veggies and saute until everything is coated in the oil. Add whatever spices suite your taste. I added basil, oregano and adobo. Turn down the heat. cover and cook for about 20 minutes.
  2. Sauce: melt the butter in a pan on low to medium heat. When it begins to bubble, add the flour and stir until all lumps are gone. Add the coconut milk and continue to stir until mixed. I added Adobo and some red pepper flakes here. When warm and almost ready to serve, add the cheeses. I only used .75 a can of the milk because that was what we had left in the fridge. You can use the milk of your choice, but this had a nice sweet flavor to it and was low calorie.
  3. Pasta: make according to the directions. We used penne.

Drain the pasta, add the veggies, Add the sauce. Blend and serve.
Serving Size: 4 large servings

Nutritional Info
  • Servings Per Recipe: 4
  • Amount Per Serving
  • Calories: 257.5
  • Total Fat: 13.3 g
  • Cholesterol: 30.8 mg
  • Sodium: 138.6 mg
  • Total Carbs: 28.0 g
  • Dietary Fiber: 2.5 g
  • Protein: 7.8 g
One thought on “Clean out the fridge Pasta Primavera

  1. Pingback: What’s for Dinner: May 27 Part 2 | Thoughts from the end of the world

Leave a Reply

