Lebowski wind up

Finally, I got the rest of my yarn. The third color is not quite as dark as I’d like it to be, but I’ve decided it’s going to be just fine. And this won’t be like the white either. It’s just that the two browns are fair close in tone, but they are different enough to work.

In the meantime, I’ve been making some socks. I found this cool little pattern on purlsoho.com and the first two socks went quite quickly! So did the third. But this fourth sock? Well, I’m done with it. Ready for it to be finished. A little tired of knitting in circles, I believe.

So I’ll take a break and get on this sweater for a couple of days. In the meantime, I wound some of the yarn. I do not have a yarn winder. I’m just too cheap to spend on something NOT yarn, really, plus they tend to clamp on tables, which would probably freak out my husband. I’d been draping it over my knees and winding it that way. Sometimes that worked and sometimes it was nightmare. So, I went back to my original yarn winder, that is to say, my captain’s chairs. These chairs are nearly older than I am. I believe my parents bought them when I was a preschooler and I am old, folks. They gave them to me when I set up my own house and I painted them black and put leaves on it. The arms are a great winder and that works much much better. Well, not as great as a real winder, but good enough that I’m not tempted to buy one and have one more thing in the house. Only other problem: my winding system attracts vermin.

Leave a Reply

