Big Red Chili

Boy it has been stunning and gorgeous here in South Carolina. In fact, so beautiful, I gotta use two adjectives to describe it. It means I have enjoy it with a run. (To be honest, if I’m serious about running the half in 5 weeks, I’m going to have to up my running game anyway.) But still, the family has got to eat, right?

Enter the crock pot! Oh sure, it might seem weird to make a chili when it’s so dang nice outside, but that’s what I did. The family chowed down on it too. Definitely a keeper, so I break my vow of only blogging once a week and share one more recipe.

The original is from a book called 1,001 Best Slow-Cooker Recipes, which isn’t too bad. There have been some winners. There have been disappointments too. The pineapple chicken was not a hit at all, except with Bella. The turkey pumpkin chili was a hit with me (and my friend Suzanne, who was having pumpkin shipped in to Florida with last year’s pumpkin shortage), but not with the other two family members. Still,  considering that I prefer to avoid meat and my husband prefers to avoid any fruit in his dinners, it’s been a nice resource.

To the recipe! Now the original called for 8 oz of ground sirloin. You can only get ground turkey in packs of 20 oz. I went with a sweet onion instead of a red onion. I added garlic and cinnamon while I was switching stuff around. Otherwise, I stuck to the recipe.

  • Lean ground turkey, 20 oz
  • Crushed tomatoes, 28 oz can
  • Red kidney beans, 15 oz can
  • Sweet onions
  • Red pepper, chopped
  • Red wine vinegar, 2 tbsp
  • Chili powder, 2 tbsp
  • Allspice .25 tsp
  • Cinnamon ground, 1 tsp
  • Salsa, .67 cup
  • Garlic, 2 cloves

Now you could brown the turkey and then put that in the pot, include all the ingredients, cover it and put it on low. Or you could just put everything in the pot, stir it up, cover it and put it on low like I did. Or even better … put everything in the pot while the family cleans the kitchen, cover it and stick it in the fridge. Pull it out in the morning, put it on low and go to work. Get that 6 mile run in, take a shower, make a salad and gobble up!

Nutritional Info
  • Servings Per Recipe: 6
  • Calories: 269.6
  • Total Fat: 7.4 g
  • Cholesterol: 83.3 mg
  • Sodium: 866.4 mg
  • Total Carbs: 28.6 g
  • Dietary Fiber: 8.7 g
  • Protein: 27.1 g
Leave a Reply

