Fellowship Hospitality

Yummy muffins

Cranberry Apple Muffins

Today, I made chocolate sugar cookies and cranberry apple muffins for hospitality at church tomorrow. Now normally I just sit happily in my religious education (RE) silo, but my good friend Sarah Harcum is in charge of hospitality and she will cross over to my silo from time to time to teach. I realized it was time to get out of my little world and do something different for the church. I can’t harass people all the time to teach RE when I don’t bother to do something different myself, so with a couple weeks off from teaching, I thought “sure why not.” Besides, I have this wacky idea I’m going to present to our minister to try to get others to break out of their little silos, so I thought I should try it before I started to preach it.

Besides, I still had 13 of the original 44 apples left, so why not use some for hospitality? If you’re like me, when you bake, you end up being the only one in the family actually eating it, when really all you wanted was a cookie or a muffin or two. The bottom line was this looked to be a good way to use up some stuff that probably should be used, while getting a small amount of baked goods to satisfy that jones, then finding a place to take it and feed to others. So far, the plan is working pretty well. The family isn’t necessarily interested in the baked goods, I have had my fill, and the rest will go to church where I actually will see people enjoying it.

Now I thought the cookies were nice … chocolatey without being too terribly sweet. And the muffins were scrumptious. They are kind of unusual, so I’m sharing the recipe. The original is here, but of course, I made some small changes. Less than I usually make, but changes nonetheless.

Cranberry Apple Muffins

  • 2 c diced apples
  • 1/2 c sugar
  • 1/2 c brown sugar
  • 1 c julienned (then chopped) carrots
  • handful of craisins
  • 1/2 c walnuts, chopped
  • 2 eggs (you could also use Eggbeaters)
  • 1/2 c corn oil (normally I halve this and replace that with applesauce … but there’s already two cups of diced apples in this thing!)
  • 1 1/2 c flour
  • 1 c whole wheat flour
  • 3 t baking powder
  • 2 t baking soda
  • 2 t cinnamon
  • 2 t coriander
  • 1/2 t salt

Mix the apples, sugar and carrots together and let stand for 10 minutes. Add craisins, nuts, eggs and oil and mix well. Add baking powder, baking soda and spices and mix until just blended. Add the two flours and mix until just moistened. Spray muffin pans with oil  and fill cups until 2/3 full. Bake for 25 minutes in a 375° oven. Cook for 5 minutes until removing to a wire rack.

Delicious! Like carrot cake, except it also has apples. MMM. AND! I’m down to 11 apples! Or at least I thought so. I’ll see tomorrow what the church folk think. But they are pretty ravenous after the service. Food doesn’t seem to hang out long. Always nice to serve food to an appreciative crowd!

Leave a Reply

