Crab Burritos, redux

Back when I first started to change my eating habits, I discovered Hungry Girl. Now much of what she loves I don’t necessarily follow. I find she uses a lot of fairly processed foods and artificial ingredients, but really she mostly eats very healthy. Crab burritos was a fairly early attempt and I loved the concept. But with fat free cream cheese and no fat sour cream? Uh, maybe not.

I had an extra thing of crab meat from when I made mini crab cakes for the Christmas Eve party that got canceled. Alas, they were served to a group that included a husband who loves crab but limited his intake due to a gout attack; a sister, a brother-in-law and a mother who didn’t care for crab themselves; a bunch of kids who would rather eat chicken nuggets; and another sister who is allergic to shellfish. Thank God for my mother-in-law, raised in Delaware. She ate the rest when we took them with us the next day.

But I digress. The extra container of crab needed to be consumed and the husband was out town, plus I had an odd collection of tortillas. So it was time to make some crab burritos!

Mix in a bowl:

  • 8 ounces of crab meat
  • 4 ounces of Chobani plain yogurt
  • About half a tablespoon of Old Bay seasoning. If you don’t have Old Bay, go with some garlic salt, some oregano and some paprika

Mix in another bowl:

  • A can of black beans, rinsed well
  • A little bit of lime juice
  • A garlic clove, minced

Now take four tortillas. Me, I’m partial to the Ole Extreme Wellness Tortillas (despite the silly name) because they are loaded with fiber and they are fairly low calorie. And, thanks to my mother’s insistence that I eat that whole grain bread in the early 70s, not the Sunbeam I so craved, I have a taste for grains that others feel is made from twigs, sticks or cardboard. Fill each one with crab meat and black beans. Roll up and stick them in a baking pan. Top each one with a little bit of salsa and some Laughing Cow Queso cheese. (Believe it or not, it’s my husband that brings this stuff home.)

Toss it in the oven for about 10 minutes. Each burrito is about 220 calories, I believe. And yum! My daughter gobbled it up. But then again, my daughter eats good stuff. She mocked the McDonald’s direct mail piece that showed up the other day. Then she ripped it up and threw it in the trash. Morgan Spurlock, she is your biggest fan.

Leave a Reply

