Sweet Potato Bonanza

Sweet Potato Crackers, in owl form for Halloween

My farm share is still going and the biggest thing they are producing right now are sweet potatoes. I LOVE SWEET POTATOES! Alas, my husband does not. Still, when he’s out of town, we eat sweet potatoes. Alas, I love them so that I don’t have any photos.

So, here are some favorite ways I’ve made sweet potatoes.

Stuffed sweet potato

This I found and knew I had to make it. I used parmesan because my daughter has gotten finicky about feta. Here’s what you do.

Bake your sweet potatoes at 400 for 45 minutes.

Mix the following:

  • Olives (we made three, so I used the whole small can)
  • Sun dried tomatoes (I bought ready to eat and used an amount of about half of the olives
  • Parmesan cheese (about the same amount as the tomatoes)
  • Arugula (what I had available)
  • Olive oil (this is up to you. The original had it and I forgot it and it was still good.)

Open up the sweet potatoes, put on top and serve. We ate two of them and I took the third one to lunch. Normally sweet potatoes get the sweet dial turned up, but this is a really excellent way of having them more savory.

Sweet Potato and Black Bean Tacos

Loosely based on a Whole Foods recipe, except less cheese and no sauce.

Peel and chop enough sweet potatoes to make about 2 cups. Boil for 15-20 minutes. Drain and mash and add some cumin and red pepper (a pinch!) and garlic salt. You can also add a can of chopped green chili peppers. I didn’t because I didn’t have any in the pantry.

At the same time, make some black beans. Or, you can get a can of black beans, but frequent blog readers know that I love my pressure cooker so much I’d marry it if it was legal in SC. (It’s not.) So, I cooked them on high for 18 minutes, let them release naturally, drained them and added lime juice and garlic salt. You can add real garlic too, but I was being super lazy today.

That’s the basis. From there, you decorate that taco any way you like. Add salsa. Add spinach. Add onions! Me, I had some leftover onion and green pepper, so I grilled those up and added those with some salsa. PERFECT.

Oh and I served them on flour tortillas which I heated up on the grill (not the microwave) but you could use corn too.

Sweet Potato Carrot Soup

This one is so easy it’s crazy. Also pressure cooker, but I’m sure you could make it regular too.

I peeled a bunch of little sweet potatoes and a batch of carrots I got at the store (it was a puny bunch) and then I chopped those up. I also chopped up half an onion.

Saute the onion in the pressure cooker in a little bit of oil (instead of butter for me.) Add the following spices:

  • 1/2 teaspoon cardamom (rounded)
  • 1/4 teaspoon turmeric (rounded)
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground ginger (rounded)
  • 1/4 teaspoon red pepper flakes
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon (rounded)

I skipped the stick and the pepper.

Then I threw in the potatoes and the carrots and just went with the whole box of veggie broth instead of half and half with the water. Got it up to pressure, cooked for 15, let it come down and BAM, soup. DELICIOUS.

Sweet Potato Crackers

In my spare time, I’ve been involved in coaching Girls on the Run. Part of it is to provide them healthy snacks and I’ve had a good time with this. They love the watermelon and cantaloupe from the farm share, but what they really talk about are the zucchini muffins. They’ve even requested I bring those back. What I did instead was make these. They LOVED these. I didn’t top with salt or sesame seeds; I did nutmeg. The girls had no clue what was in them and they devoured them. In fact, they were disappointed when I brought bananas the next time.

Leave a Reply

